top of page

Red Velvet Oreo

This is a rainy Saturday......The heavy rain poured down from the early morning and hasn't stop till now. I'm a sunny day person- I hate rainy and cloudy weathers. In this grey color day, I want to introduce a bright color dessert. After introducing Chinese style desserts three times, I think it's time for western desserts now.

Oreo, as one of the most popular cookies in the world, was used in many other kinds of desserts as a topping. It's also my favorite topping for ice-cream. Traditionally , Oreo is the combination of black and white. People always love this mixed flavor of chocolate and cream. However, Oreo always promotes new flavors. Unfortunately, I don't like most of them. But Red Velvet Oreo is qualified to enter my top 3 favorite Oreo flavors. ( The other two are original one and chocolate & strawberry flavor)

As we all know, Red Velvet cake is traditionally a red or red-brown layer cake topped with white cream cheese. It is commonly served on Christmas or Valentine's Day. This is a dessert represents romantics and love. This time, Oreo learns from red velvet cake's flavor and replaces original cream with cream cheese flavored cream. Besides, the color of cookies becomes red. As for flavor, I think red velvet Oreo is too sweet compared to traditional red velvet cakes. I suggest red velvet Oreo should add more "sour" to the filling to neutralize the "sweet" of cookies.


bottom of page